Fegg Hayes 1 Holt JCB 1

Saturday 14th May 2005
Fegg Hayes 1 Holt JCB 1
Staffordshire Senior League Division 1
At: High Lane
Kick-off: 2-30pm
Admission: none; Programme: none
Attendance: 40 (headcount)
Weather: warm and sunny, strong wind
Duration: first-half: 45:57; second-half: 48:08

Division One champions Fegg Hayes rested several players as they wrapped up their successful 2004/05 season with a 1-1 draw over Holt JCB. They needed a very late equaliser from Kane Brookes to cancel out an opening goal scored for the visitors midway through the second half by Mark Adams.

Fegg Hayes play at a open recreation ground on High Lane near Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent. The pitch ran lengthways from the car park at the south end with portable dugouts positioned down the right-hand touchline closest to the road.

With photographer Malc Hampton also at the game, Holt JCB (in blue) got the game underway attacking the car park end in the first half. The best chance of the first half fell to Holt’s Tom Pope who burst through and saw his resulting shot blocked by the boot for Fegg Hayes goalkeeper Richard Harrison.

Following the goalless first half, Holt’s goalkeeper Andrew Cooper produced a decent save to turn round a header from Michael Ibinson.

The visitors took the lead in the 67th minute. Mark Adams picked up the ball inside the area on the left and sent a low shot into the far corner of the net via the post.

Fegg Hayes salvaged a point with a 90th minute equaliser, scrambled home at close range by Kane Brookes.

Fegg Hayes (grey with black sleeves / black / white): 1. Richard Harrison, 2. John Johnson, 3. Gavin Wood, 4. Chris Oakes (capt), 5. Steven Harrison, 6. Kane Brookes, 7. Michael Ibinson, 8. Bjorn Ormond, 9. Kyle Brookes, 10. Carl Mountford, 11. Neil Seadon. Subs: 12. Scott Wiggins (for Ormond, 59), 14. Steve Cole (for Harrison, 78), 15. Darren Rawlings (not used), 16. Ashley Mountford (not used), 17. Jimmy Deacon (for Mountford, ht).

Holt JCB (blue / navy blue / navy blue): 1. Andrew Cooper, 2. Lee Bloor, 3. Mark Alcock, 4. Eddy Bloor, 5. Darren Harding, 6. Phil Foreman (capt), 7. Darren Colclough, 8. Steve Parker, 9. Tom Pope, 10. Mark Adams, 11. Chris Mason. Subs: 12. Dave Thomas (for Mason, 87), 14. Glyn Pattinson (for Lee Bloor, 85), 15. Dan Brassington (not used), 16. John Anstey (not used), 17. Robert Shirley (for Harding, 90+3).

Referee: Mr Clews (Chell).

0-1 Mark Adams (67)
1-1 Kane Brookes (90)

Fegg Hayes: John Johnson (YC, 61), Michael Ibinson (YC, 81)
Holt JCB: none