Badgers Tales - news from the Old Police Sports Ground

It was a memorable night for Brocton FC at the Midland Combination 2010/11 season presentation evening as the Badgers scooped more awards than any other club. In the event held at Walsall’s Bescot Stadium, the highlight for Brocton was the golden boot award to Gary Fife for the highest scorer in the Premier Division and overall the five divisions with 46 league goals. They were also awarded three Hospitality awards for both senior and reserve teams, voted by each club in their respective divisions, but were also awarded the Stan Mansel Hospitality award voted by the match officials for the Premier Division. Brocton also picked up the Team of the Month ‘Overall’ Award for April/May. (more and photos at

Brocton have so far announced seven pre-season friendlies:

Saturday 16th July: Newcastle Town (away 3 pm)
Saturday 23rd July: Boldmere St Michaels (home 3 pm)
Tuesday 26th July: Heath Hayes (home 7-30 pm)
Thursday 28th July: Rugeley Rangers (home 7-30 pm)
Saturday 30th July: AFC Wulfrunians (home 3pm)
Tuesday 2nd August: Wolverhampton Casuals (away 7-30 pm)
Saturday 6th August: Bilston Town (away 3 pm)

The mid week dates against Boldmere St Michaels, Heath Hayes and Rugeley Rangers will all be on the 2nd pitch with a decision to be made on whether the fixture is fulfilled by the first team, development squad or a mixture of the two.

The confirmed line-up for the 2011/12 Midland Combination Premier Division is:

Bartley Green, Bloxwich United, Bolehall Swifts, Brocton, Cadbury Athletic, Castle Vale, Castle Vale JKS, Continental Star, Coventry Copsewood, Earlswood Town (p), Nuneaton Griff, Pelsall Villa, Pershore Town, Pilkington XXX, RC Warwick, Southam United and Walsall Wood.

Newcomers are Earslwood Town (promoted from Division 1) and Bloxwich United (transferred from West Midlands (Regional) League Premier Division).

Leaving the division are: Alveston (resigned to join the Stratford Alliance), Dosthill Colts (merged with Coleshill Town, now Dosthill and Coleshill Colts FC in Midland Football Alliance), Heather St Johns (promoted to Midland Football Alliance) and Massey Ferguson (resigned).