Altrincham 1 Vauxhall Motors 0

Friday 29th March 2013
Playing on Good Friday for the first time in 41 years, Altrincham maintained their promotion push with a sixth-consecutive victory. Early on, it looked like of case of how many the Robins would score against an initially hesitant defence, yet ended up winning by the narrowest of margins thanks to James Lawrie’s 78th-minute winner. Vauxhall became a threat on the break and hit both bar and post during the first half, and had two strong penalty appeals turned down. Little appears to have changed inside Moss Lane since my last visit in 2008 but the houses visible behind the terrace have replaced the old Chequers nightclub.

Altrincham 1 Vauxhall Motors 0
Blue Square Bet North
At: Moss Lane
Kick-off: 3-00 pm
Admission: £15 (seat); Programme: £2 (44 pages)

Weather: cold, sunny, dry

Full report to follow...

Altrincham (red with black sleeves / red / red): 1. Stuart Coburn (capt), 2. Shaun Densmore, 3. Scott Leather, 4. Jake Moult, 5. Gianluca Havern, 6. Danny Hall, 7. James Lawrie, 8. Danny Boshell, 9. Duncan Watmore, 10. Damian Reeves, 11. Nicky Clee. Subs: 12. Matt Doughty (for Reeves, 71), 14. Pat Lacey (not used), 15. Carl Rodgers (for Moult, 67), 16. Ryan Brooke (for Watmore, 90+3), 18gk. Tony McMillan (not used). Manager: Lee Sinnott.

Vauxhall Motors (yellow/green/yellow): 1. Zac Jones, 2. Connor Roberts-Nurse, 3. Steve Wainwright, 4. Tom Hannigan, 5. Andrew Nicholas, 6. Karl Clair, 7. Craig Mahon, 8. Danny Fearnehough, 9. Karl Noon, 10. Ashley Stott, 11. Mike Burns Subs: 12. Obi Anoruo (for Stott, 82), 14. Gary Martindale (not used), 15. Tom Rutter (not used), 17. Craig Ellison (not used). M

Referee: D. Meeson.
Assistants: N. Evans and S. Mulhall.

Attendance: 930

Duration: first-half: 46:08; second-half: 48:12

1-0 James Lawrie (78)

Altrincham: Gianluca Havern (YC, 88), James Lawrie (YC, 90+1)
Vauxhall Motors: Mike Burns (YC, 53), Danny Fearnehough (YC, 59