Brassington 4 The Bridge 7

Saturday 1st June 2013
The Bridge producing a stunning second-half comeback to turn a 4-2 half-time deficit into a 7-4 victory to lift the Summer League’s Peter Young Cup. In the sunshine at Longford Lane, three goals came during the opening nine minutes as Brassington edged ahead through Joe Redfern and Matt Allcock after James Taylor had given after The Bridge an early lead. By the time the interval arrived, Redfern again and Tom Batterley had also found the net for Brassington either side of a Craig Richardson penalty. The 130-strong crowd then witnessed five unanswered goals from The Bridge including two from both Barrie Swan and James Ingram.

Brassington 4 The Bridge 7
Summer League Peter Young Cup Final
At: Longford Lane, Mammerton
Kick-off: 7-00 pm
Admission: £2; Programme: none
Weather: dry, warm and sunny

Summer League’s Peter Young Cup remembers a well-respected former Secretary who sadly passed away while holding the post. The winners of the inaugural competition were Stanton Nomads and last season Bradley lifted the cup defeating The Bridge 5-0. Traditionally the final is played at the G.B. Barrington Playing Field at Kirk Langley but unavailability due to cricket meant this year’s final was switched to the David Naylor Transport Ground on Longford Lane.

Road to the Final
MONDAY APRIL 29 – First Round
Rose & Crown v The Bridge 0-1
Mayfield v Kirk Langley 1-2
Weston v Osmaston 0-1
Red Lion v Doveridge 3-3 (2-4 pens)
Biggin v FC Hulland 2-1
Bradley, Wheel Inn, Brassington Byes

THURSDAY MAY 9 – Second Round
Bradley v Osmaston 2-3
Biggin v Wheel Inn 2-3
Doveridge v The Bridge 1-2
Kirk Langley v Brassington 2–4

WEDNESDAY MAY 22 – Semi Finals
The Bridge v Osmaston 2-1
At Osmaston Polo Ground
Wheel Inn v Brassington 3-4
At Mappleton

Brassington (navy blue / white / navy blue): 1. Mick Boam, 2. Tom Martin, 16. James Slater (capt), 4. Karl Allsop, 5. Mark Allcock, 6. Steve Ebbrell, 7. Tom Batterley, 8. Jamie Brindley, 9. Matt Allcock, 10. Joe Redfern, 11. Jamie Jack. Subs: 3. Steve Jack (for Allsop, 89), 12. Ben Slater (for James Slater, 86), 14. Zak Hurt (for Batterley, 86).

The Bridge (fluorescent yellow and black hoops / black / assortment [majority black]): 1. Dan Carter, 15. Craig Richardson, 7. Josh Sears, 5. Scott Lyon, 2. George Taylor, 10. Brad Lewis, 3. Stuart Astbury (capt), 16. Barrie Swan, 14. Jordy Wibberley, 8. James Ingram, 11. James Taylor. Subs: 17. Jimmy Carter (for Wibberley, 53), 9. Sam Archer (for Astbury, 58).

Referee: Syd Atwell.
Assistants: Chris Cope and Josh Dowling.

Attendance: 130 (headcount)

Duration (45): first-half: 46:00; second-half: 46:38

0-1 James Taylor (2)
1-1 Joe Redfern (8)
2-1 Mark Alcock (9)
3-1 Joe Redfern (19)
3-2 Craig Richardson (30 pen)
4-2 Tom Batterley (32)
4-3 Barrie Swan (53)
4-4 Barrie Swan (58)
4-5 Jamie Brindley (61 og)
4-6 James Ingram (73)
4-7 James Ingram (90+1)

Cards: none