Burntwood Town 1 Phoenix United 1

Saturday 23rd April 2011
Burntwood Town 1 Phoenix United 1
imosports Midland Combination Division 1
At: Long Lane, Essington
Kick-off: 3-00 pm
Admission: none; Programme: none
Weather: warm and sunny, short heavy rain
Attendance 7 (headcount)
Duration: first-half: 46:02; second-half: 45:39

I needed an afternoon game close to Aston (6-30 kick-off) and a ground with the guarantee of covered seating or standing because heavy rain was forecast. So, with some kind of curiosity after their 22-0 midweek defeat, I opted for a revisit to Long Lane currently used by Burntwood Town where I’d previously seen Wyrley Rangers play Stafford Town in 2005.

Back in October, prior to my visit to New Bradwell St Peter, I wondered how a side (visitors Sport London e Benfica) would react to a 16-0 defeat in their previous game. This afternoon was a similar occasion. How would Burntwood react? Come within seconds of winning the game until Phoenix scored a last-minute equaliser.

Burntwood took the lead through Andrew Highman in the 25th minute and held on despite considerable pressure from Phoenix. It seemed likely they would win their first league game of the seasonwhen Lewis Moseley produced a superb save late on to keep his side in front. However, the Burntwood keeper turned from hero to villain in the 90th minute by needlessly conceding a penalty. Steffan Morrison fired home from the spot to level things up with virtually the last kick of the game to leave Burntwood gutted and still searching for that elusive first league win of the season. And rain did fall heavily midway through the first half so the roof over the 100-seater stand came in useful!

Burntwood Town (maroon and blue stripes / blue / blue): 1. Lewis Moseley, 2. Russell Adams, 3. Karlos Williams, 4. Philip Wright, 5. Paul Jones, 6. Ryan Tait, 7. Simon Parsons, 8. Jake West, 9. Omar Osman, 10. Dan Mortlock (capt), 11. Andrew Highman, Subs: 12. Daryl Higgins (for Highman, 84), 14. Wesley Berrow (not used), 15. Glen Walker (not used), 16. Andrew Saddler (not used).

Phoenix United (yellow/white/yellow): 1. Adam Walker, 2. Martin Peace, 3. James McEvoy, 4. Countney South, 5. Danny Murphy (capt), 6. Tyrone Clarke, 7. Casey Roberts, 8. Leon Sam, 9. Anthony Yeomans, 10. Steffan Morrison, 11. Adan Miller. Subs: 12. Ian Freeman (for Yeomans, ht), 14. Mark Bennett (for Miller, 75).

Referee: K. Wright.
Assistants: D. Evans and S. Hale.

1-0 Andrew Highman (26)
1-1 Steffan Morrison (90)