Doncaster Rovers 2 Blackburn Rovers 0

Friday 16th August 2013
I was delighted when Aussie groundhopper Mark Taylor suggested meeting up this weekend during his extensive tour of England and several European countries plus Dubai on the way out and Thailand on the way home. He was planning a Yorkshire ‘double’ tomorrow at Leeds United and York City to follow tonight’s game at Doncaster Rovers. As I’d not visited the Keepmoat Stadium, I bought two tickets online for collection and met up with Mark in the centre of Doncaster for some ale [Acorn Forester for me] at the Old Angel before making our way to the ground. Watching from the West Stand, we saw Doncaster record their first league victory of the season with a goal in each half from new signing Theo Robinson and James Husband.

Doncaster Rovers 2 Blackburn Rovers 0
Skybet Championship
At: Keepmoat Stadium
Kick-off: 7-45 pm
Admission: £23 (seat); Programme: £3 (84 pages)
Weather: sunny spells

Doncaster Rovers (red and white hoops / black / black): 1. Ross Turnbull, 32. Reece Wabara, 14. Bongani Khumalo, 5. Rob Jones (capt), 3. James Husband, 26. James Coppinger, 19. Richard Wellens, 18. Paul Keegan, 11. David Cotterill (Syers 90), 22. Theo Robinson (Duffy 76), 9. Chris Brown. Subs: 13.gk Jon Maxted (not used), 2. Paul Quinn (not used), 6. David Syers (for Cotterill, 90+3), 7. Mark Duffy (for Robinson, 76), 8. Billy Paynter (not used), 12. Luke McCullough (not used), 23. Kyle Bennett (not used). Manager: Paul Dickov.

Blackburn Rovers (blue and white halves / white / white): 34. Jacob Kean, 2. Todd Kane, 5. Grant Hanley, 16. Scott Dann (capt), 3. Tommy Spurr, 25. Alan Judge, 8. David Dunn, 19. Chris Taylor, 6. Jason Lowe, 11. Jordan Rhodes, 45. Tom Cairney. Subs: 13gk. Simon Eastwood (not used), 7. Joshua King (for Dunn, 66), 9. Leon Best (for Taylor, 66), 21. Alex Marrow (not used), 24. Josh Morris (not used), 29. Corry Evans (for Cairney, 60), 31. Gaël Givet-Viaros (not used). Manager: Gary Bowyer.

Referee: Geoff Eltrigham
Assistants: Joe Hull and Ross Joyce
Fourth Official: Declan Ford

Attendance: 8707
Duration: first-half: 46:16; second-half: 49:26

1-0 Theo Robinson (37)
2-0 James Husband (58)

Doncaster: Chris Brown (YC, 32)
Blackburn: Tommy Spurr (YC, 11), Grant Hanley (YC, 61), Chris Taylor (YC, 64)