Meliden 2 St Asaph 0

Monday 26th August 2013
For many, this was game 11 out of 11 on the 2013 Welsh Groundhop; for me simply the second leg of a Bank Holiday ‘double’. Like Llandyrnog, I was also impressed with the welcome at Meiden, a village a few miles inland from Prestatyn, and the ground certainly was buzzing with a mix of locals and hoppers. With numerous minds perhaps starting to focus on the journey home, a feisty local derby with a past history fitted the bill perfectly to retain attention and it was Meliden who came out on top with an unanswered goal in each half. On a pleasant sunny evening, the visitors created and failed to convert a host of chances before being punished just after the half-hour mark. Dean Moss got free of his marker to head home a left-wing cross. After a ‘lively’ barbecue briefly threatened to cause headlines off the field, Meliden clinched the local bragging rights with a victory-clinching second goal late on. What a super strike it was, a looping 30-yard shot which flew past the helpless Luke Jones.

Meliden 2 St Asaph 0
Lock Stock Welsh Alliance Division Two
At: The Mine, Ffordd Pennant
Kick-off: 6-00 pm
Admission: £3; Programme: £1 (16 pages)
Weather: sunny

Meliden (orange/black/black): 1. Stephen Robinson, 2. Andy Jones, 3. Ryan Hassett, 4. Lewis Maroney, 5. Jamie Duffy, 6. Jamie Hobson, 7. Ashley New, 8. Jack McDougall, 9. Darren Cassidy (capt), 10. Dean Moss, 11. Alec Williams. Subs: 12. Kris Owen (for Moss, 62), 13. Woz Adam (for McDougall, 73), 14. Matty Mullholland (not used), 15. Matty Harrison (not used), 16. Adie Hoyle (for Duffy, 18). Manager: Paul Maroney.

St Asaph (white/blue/blue): 1. Luke Jones, 2. Johnny Taylor, 3. Jordan Owen, 4. Sam Benbow, 5. David Evans (capt), 6. Shane Thomas, 7. Steve Williams, 8. Paul Fleming, 9. Duncan Midgley, 10. Adam Cassidy, 11. Jason Foulkes. Subs: 12. Neil Cross (for Foulkes, 78), 14. Kris Fearnley (for Thomas, 67), 15. Matthew Quinn (not used), 16. Aiden Bell (not used). Manager: Graham Hunter.

Referee: Nathan Jones (Denbigh)
Assistants: Caerwyn Lloyd-Davies (Rhuddlan) and Nathan Wheatley (Denbigh)

Attendance: 323
Duration: first-half: 46:14; second-half: 49:00

1-0 Dean Moss (34)
2-0 Darren Cassidy (84)

Cards: none