Aberdyfi 6 Bont 5

Sunday 26th August 2012
Aberdyfi 6 Bont 5
Spar Mid Wales League Division Two
At: Penrhos Field
Kick-off: 3-00 pm
Admission: ticket; Programme: £1 (8 pages)
Weather: hot and sunny
Attendance: 324
Duration: first-half: 45:32; second-half: 50:05

I left Tywyn Bryncrug wondering if the goals would finally dry up and I couldn’t have been more wrong with another ELEVEN to add to the tally from a game that will long live in the memory of everyone present.

Visitors Bont scored four goals during the opening half-hour to seemingly set up an unassailable lead and substantial victory. In hot sunshine befitting a coastal resort, Aberdyfi reduced the deficit to one before Bont scored what looked like a match-winning fifth goal.

With time running out, an Aberdyfi corner wasn’t cleared and Zac Smith made it 4-5 with a clever overhead kick.

Into stoppage time, and just like Presteigne yesterday, the side trailing 4-5 were awarded a free-kick around 25 yards out. Tim Holt stepped up and curled the ball expertly with his right foot around the wall and into the top right-corner of the net. Another 5-5!

Amazingly, there was time for Aberdyfi to seek a winner. Smith fed unmarked Ben Richards who sidefooted home the winner in the fourth minute of stoppage time. We’d just seen the comeback of all comebacks with the celebrations to match.

Amid all the euphoria surrounding the closing stages, I’d completely forgotten there was a personal celebration to reflect on – a Spar Mid-Wales League Division Two ‘champagne’ job a match earlier than most as I visited Machynlleth’s Cae Glas ground 20 years ago.

Aberdyfi (amber/black/black): 1. Bob Blunden, 2. Sam Evenson, 3. Gavin Ebery, 4. Stuart Betts, 5. Tom Harvey, 6. John Horton, 7. Zac Smith, 8. Tim Holt, 9. James Roberts, 10. Sion Evans, 11. Luke Rickard. Subs: 12. Ben Richards (for Evans, 63), 14. Chris Rawson (for Betts, 85), 15. Ian Lewis (for Roberts, 87).

Bont (sky blue and white stripes / navy blue / sky blue): 1. Trevor Jenkins, 2. Ian Lee, 3. Liion Jones, 4. Ryan Hopkins, 5. Trystan Jones, 6. Llewellyn Hughes, 7. Scott Lowe, 8. Ceri Jenkins, 9. Daniel Thomas, 10. Andre Marsh, 11. Michael Lowe. Subs: 12. Jack Page (for Lowe, 85), 14. Gwidion ap Ifan (not used), 15. Sion Jones (for Jenkins, 88).

Referee: Carwyn Jenkins.
Assistants: G. Jones and J. Freeman.

0-1 Andre Marsh (18)
0-2 Daniel Thomas (21)
0-3 Llewellyn Hughes (28 pen)
0-4 Ian Lee (31)
1-4 Tim Holt (43)
2-4 Luke Pickard (46)
3-4 Tim Holt (77 pen)
3-5 Llewellyn Hughes (79)
4-5 Zac Smith (89)
5-5 Tim Holt (90+1)
6-5 Ben Richards (90+4)

Aberdyfi: John Horton (YC, 39), Zac Smith (YC, 77), Ian Lewis (87)
Bont: none